The Green fabric that keeps giving: Colour-blocking the Jackie O

Don’t you just love it when you can sew a garment out of scraps of fabric? In my case, it may be my favourite sewing project. When I finished the green Francoise Dress, I still had a bit of the green fabric left and in my habit of not throwing anything, I kept in a box with all sorts and sizes of scraps. You never know when the time comes to need something right? In that particular box lived for the past year another piece of fabric, a left over from this skirt. Their relationship came to fruition and became official with the marriage between the two remnants in the creation of the Jackie O jacket from Love Sewing Magazine ( I know, I’ve been making a lot of those lately)

Jackie O Jacket Love Sewing Magazine

I cut a size 8 but it ended up being a bit tight around the arms, so I decreased the seam allowance to give them some more room. I’m quite pleased with how even the colour blocking is. As I haven’t done this sort of  thing before, I was certain I would end up with a very mismatched jacket, but I think the result is pretty good.

Jackie O jacket love sewing magazine

Jackie O Love Sewing Magazine

The pattern doesn’t call for lining but since there was more cutting and pasting in my version, I thought it necessary to use one, plus I couldn’t resist to this lovely viscose that my grandma donated me some time ago. Matching colours and the first time I used my labels, a birthday present from my boyfriend. The jacket didn’t take long to sew. I think the fiddliest part was measuring the pieces and adding the lining, so I imagine that with just one fabric it will be a quick project and definitely good, for someone who isn’t a pro in making jackets 😉

Jackie O Love Sewing magazine

The real reason for this jacket was that I wanted something to match the green Francoise, as it is sleeveless and I’m constantly cold. They do work very well together and the cream breaks the green monotony in a pleasant way. My face is a bit silly, looking at something up there but hey ho!

Jackie O Love sewing magazineHow about you, have you given new life to any lonely scraps of fabric lately?

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Green fabric that keeps giving: Colour-blocking the Jackie O

  1. Andie L. says:

    This is the cutest pairing ever! I remember the skirt that you made before. It was the post that made me follow your blog. 😀 I love your style. So much colour and neat pairings like this. Love the outfit! 😀

  2. Love this, I really liked this pattern, but didn’t know whether I could sew a jacket or not. You may have just convinced me, great job! 🙂

  3. Wow. Totally stunning. Well done.

  4. Beth says:

    How posh, with the lining as well. And I love the jewel-y beads on your dress! Great idea to colour block it. Something I’ve never done!

  5. I just love sixties style jacket and dress ensembles and you’ve only done one in my favourite colour! Love it!!!

  6. Thimberlina says:

    This is an amazing outfit! I loved your françoise on it’s own but it’s really something else with the jacket! I’ve only worn my françoise twice but if I had a coloured blocked jacket…….. Just so happens I have a bit of my leopardy fabric left!!

  7. qplourde says:

    Wow that jacket looks so cute with the dress! And I really love that lining, I think it was a great choice adding it. Love seeing all your stylish makes :o)

  8. La Vonda C says:

    That *is* a very MadMen, Jackie K. look! The scale of the jacket with the dress is perfect and the shoes compliment the outfit so well 🙂

  9. I save my larger scrap pieces all the time, just hoping I can make something as clever and as lovely as this! Maybe some day! Just Beautiful!

  10. springystitches says:

    Love the colours you have used for your colour blocked jacket – it looks great with the dress. I have shoe envy too!

  11. PinhouseP says:

    I love this! What a great set 🙂 I have some wool fabric that consist of smaller pieces. When fall comes, I am determined to trying to make them into something. Jackets are great for that 🙂 Love your blog, too!

  12. Thank you! I agree, jackets are great for that sort of thing with their well structured pieces, I keep going through my scraps to see what else I can colour block haha. I think a woolen colour blocked jacket would be perfect for fall, I look forward to seeing it (not to fall so much).

  13. Claire Hatcher says:

    Hi,your jacket looks great. Are you planning on sharing how you added the lining (or any links for a tutorial)? I’m about to make the same jacket & want to line it but I’m a bit unsure of the best way to do this. Your lining looks great 🙂

Leave a comment