Burda Style 7320

Hello everybody. Going to work lately has been a struggle, probably because Christmas approaches and all I can think of is holidays. I should be getting ready for the office right now but in an attempt to pretend I don’t really have to go anywhere, I thought I’d type this post.

One of the garments I sewed in October was another not so interesting but yet quite functional garment. Burda Style 7320. A proper maternity dress this time. 7320-front-envelope_1

What I liked most about this dress was the front pleat, which yes it is there for a reason but adds a nice element to the garment. I also fell in love with the shiny grey fabric on this pic, but went for a plain grey as I wanted to be able to wear it at work as well.

DSC_0298

I made version A of the pattern, without the cap sleeves. I have only worn it with a jacket or cardigan, so I didn’t see the need for sleeves, especially ones that don’t really cover my arms.

DSC_0297

I used a lovely ponte knit for it and although it’s not exactly the right fabric, as it holds the shape really well but at the same time it has no dare. I thought I looked huge just by putting it on, haha. In any case, it was a great fabric to sew with.

DSC_0299

The best thing about it was the absence of a zipper, hurrah. It is meant to be much longer but I kept chopping the hem to level it, so I ended up with a shorter version in the end. I prefer it this way.

DSC_0300

 

I’d still like to sew a more glamorous version of it but have so many other things to finish, I may never get to it anytime soon. I suppose though that it would make a lovely dress in a smaller size, when I won’t need maternity clothes anymore. I haven’t got anything else to add, the instructions and the drafting were great. Until next time…

Pictures are again courtesy of the camera on crate.

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in New Beginnings, sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Burda Style 7320

  1. It looks lovely and really suits you. It’s a bonus that there is no zip too!

  2. Lesley King says:

    Nice. I’ve been toying with this pattern – it looks good on you.

  3. It is lovely. When I was pregnant long ago all they offered was baggy tops and dresses with ruffles. This is very unique and stylish. You look great!

  4. Now THAT is a stylish maternity dress! I love that pleat in the front! And I think the shorter length looks really fabulous. Definitely agree that you should make a non-maternity version in the future, because this one looks so wonderful on you!

  5. Ve the pleated detail at the front of the skirt. I asn’t sewing when I was pregnant, are there a lot of useful patterns available now?

  6. This is quite Fab! And congratulations.

  7. Colesworth says:

    I would have loved this when I was pregnant, looks very comfortable but still quite smart ;o)

Leave a Reply

