The Hudson Pant

I dread trousers and anything that needs really good fitting around my bum and isn’t a dress or a skirt. They look very complicated and the more I read posts with fitting issues the more scared I get. For me they are in the same category as men’s shirts. Fiddly and time consuming.

In the same way, I’m not a big fun of tracksuit/jogging trousers, I somehow find them unflattering, so I’m more of a leggings type of person. I’ve seen a lot of beautiful version of the Hudson Pant by True Bias, but still wasn’t convinced it was for me, until it landed in my inbox with one of the Perfect Pattern Parcels (was it 6?) a long time ago. I assembled the PDF in November and thought I had put it in my box of patterns but when I went for it, it was nowhere to be found. Months later one of the drawers, where in my usual disorganisation, I shove things, spat it out. The reappearance of the pattern was surely a sign I had to make it.

Normal wear/Hipster wear

Normal wear/Hipster wear (I’m no hipster, but hats and glasses seem to be the essential pieces? haha)

I knew from the beginning that I wanted my Hudson to look more like a comfortable pair of trousers rather than lounge wear only, so I went for this print, which takes it away from the tracksuit image. It’s a viscose stretch jersey from Minerva Crafts and worked perfectly. Hard to see any details though. I cut a size 0 for the waist, grading to 6 to 8 for the rest of my lower body, I could have gone for smaller but I didn’t want it to be skin tight. I found the pockets a bit complicated but I was really pleased with the result. I also didn’t use the string at the waist to avoid the tracksuit look again. I could have tightened the elastic at the waist a tiny bit more but I like the loose fit anyway.

Hudson Pant True Bias

I can definitely see the appeal of these trousers and I wonder why I hadn’t made them before. So far I have worn them indoors and outdoors with different combinations and I really love them.  I think I will be making a couple more. I did most of it on the serger and it felt as a very quick project. I think though I will cut a size smaller around the upper hip, for a slightly tighter fit but other than that I won’t be changing a thing. Nothing to report on the back, but I thought I’d show you one more picture.

Hudson pant true bias

Hopefully, I will overcome my fear of trousers slowly and I will end up making proper trousers with zippers and all in the near future. Have a good week everyone.

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Hudson Pant

  1. zibergirl says:

    Nice fit and the fabric print is perfect!

  2. Thimberlina says:

    They look cool! I traced off the pattern last year – in my size and my sons, made his as shorts (didn’t tell him they’re girls!) but never got round to mine. I’m tempted by yours tho as they look better less ‘joggerish’ 😃

  3. Fabulous. These look great.

  4. they seem to fit you pretty well and look great on you.I feel the same about sewing pants but I hope it’s not as difficult as I expect to.

  5. Wow I have seen Hudson pants before. These don’t look like the usual. They look quite dress! Very nice!

  6. I love your version of these pants! They fit very well too–good job! It’s really nice to see these made up in more of a “leave the house” kind of way, though I think they’d make great “lazy pants” too. =)

  7. jennifersews says:

    I love this style way more than the jogger version! Your hudsons looks great 🙂

  8. Lauren says:

    These look soo comfy!

    Trousers are my nemesis at the moment, but Me Made may has shown me that I have a distinct lack of bottoms to wear! The Hudson’s now on my list!

Leave a Reply

