Fall Essentials Sew Along 2013

As per my usual habit, I’m joining another marvellous sewing idea, somewhat late, but then again better late than never 🙂 Rhinestones and Telephones (love the title of this blog) runs a Fall Essentials Sew Along until 22nd November. An excellent opportunity to do some useful sewing, despite joining with a month’s delay. Not sure I will be making a piece for each of the categories but I can only try.

Being in Paris a couple of weeks ago and despite my fear of trying to sew something from a pattern in French, I ended up buying the French version of Burda. I must admit that  they have a much better system, with the patterns being on separate pieces of paper, rather than being crammed on the same piece, making me at least, feel like a sewing Holmes trying to solve the pattern puzzle. From that magazine I chose the following projects:

1. Origami Dress 

French Burda Origami Dress

2. And some more Origami Top & Skirt – longer version probably ( I do realise that they don’t look exactly warm). Both the dress and the below ensemble are perfect for work

Origami Top & Skirt French Burda

For something cosier, warmer and more casual, I’ll go with this bouclĂ© top from the British Burda, I did fall in love with the design.

3. Crewneck Sweater 

Crewneck Sweater

4. I also fell in love with this dress, made out of different fabrics. The Burda 7012 pattern

7012 Burda

5 And finally a bit of retro fashion, the Fast & Easy pink dress

B4386 butterick mccall

I’m a colourful personality so my autumn couldn’t differ from my summer in that respect, so here’s a petite selection of the fabrics, I will be using.

Fabric

Fabric

Fabric

Fabrics

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment