Fashion Abroad: Paris

I’m a big fun of fashion, naturally, but I especially love it when it is bad. You’ll see me running with my phone or camera behind anything I find hilariously bad. As part of my job, I travel to certain places, one of them being Paris. I’m sure you will think me crazy, looking for bad fashion in Paris. Paris is chic, classy, the place where Cristian Dior and Coco Chanel thrived, where everything is mignon and jolie and you would be absolutely right. I spent a long time at Librairie Eyrolles after finishing with my last meeting drooling over their beautiful books on sewing, like the one below form Les Temps Apprivoisé, whose title unfortunately I didn’t retain, argh!

IMG_4497 Les temps apprivoisé

Or the amazingly simple but so well designed Leçons de Couture, with its vintage feeling and illustrationsIMG_4495 Leçons de Couture

And Made in france, Un été Couture, which I held in my hands and decided to buy more than once,despite being summer clothes, but in the end left at the bookshop. I have enough sewing disasters in English and regardless of how fluent my French is, I’d rather not have international disasters 🙂

So after daydreaming in all the paper beauty of the books and making plans for all the things I want to instantly make every time I am in Paris, you cannot imagine my horror, when I discovered this shop, where the clothes were literally in baskets and the whole ambiance didn’t say Paris anywhere.

Paris clothes

Clothes in Paris

They weren’t second-hand, but they were very cheap and people were pulling them from all directions, in order to reach the bottom of each pile, and believe me there were plenty of them, even one with bras. Oh, I covered my eyes in horror, I tell you.

Sympa ParisOnly to open them again in front of another horror, the shoes in the same area

IMG_4514 IMG_4511 IMG_4512 Shoes in Paris

Hope you don’t blame me for running quickly to places like this

Sacre Coeur Paris

And these to give my eyes back their sight 🙂

Seine Paris Notre Dame Paris

PS: Watch this space, I aim to be doing a bad fashion post every time, I am abroad, with more actual bad fashion 😉

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in Fashion Abroad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

