Tent dress, Cynthia Rowley Simplicity 1105

Having a house with a garden makes things so much easier when it comes to taking pictures for your blog, it’s an easy outside location. When however you have no tripod because your boyfriend took it to a show to shoot some videos and no one else to take your pictures, you have to improvise and hope for the best. I don’t like using the timer but I have no remote control for my camera and since there was no tripod, I had to teach it some acrobatics and balancing on a crate on top of a table, hoping the wind will not blow as hard as to drop it on the ground.

DSC_0273

I made this dress back in October when most of my clothes had started feeling a bit too tight to be comfortable and I needed something that would allow me to move freely and also survive a whole day of meetings without suffering in my clothes. I’ve always liked tent dresses but always feared they would make me look really big. And they do, I’m not going to lie but they are also very accommodating for a growing bump. Don’t ask me what it is I’m looking at this picture, I blame the timer.

DSC_0289

The outside comes with cold lately, so every so often I had to pop in to restore my blood temperature. You know I don’t like cold. I cut a size 10, which was the smallest one on the pattern and didn’t make any adjustments. The fabric is a cotton sateen from Minerva Crafts 

DSC_0275

The dress ties at the back with a big bow that I particularly like.You can see how much excess there is in terms of fabric.

DSC_0277

Another great photo, where I’m looking at the sky, a pigeon coming closer, a plane about to land in our garden. I dreamt of this dress with something golden, like a  card in a nice lightweight fabric. I saw this lightweight jersey I guess, during a random visit at Simply Fabrics in Brixton. It winked at me the second I entered. The Julia Cardi was the only cardi pattern I had at that point. The style and length of the card doesn’t really go with the dress and I didn’t wear them together, but I ended up with another version of this great pattern. My other Julia 

PicMonkey Collage

I don’t have anything else to add about the dress, it’s very easy to make as it doesn’t have a lot of pieces. For the neck binding I used the same fabric but then for the armholes, I used shop bought bias tape as at that point I wanted to get it done.

PicMonkey Collage2

As you can see, I’ve done a better job with the pictures I took of the mannequin, she doesn’t even have to look awkwardly at something else.

How do you have your blog pics taken? Do you use a tripod, timer, or photographer?

That’s it from me for now. Have a nice week everyone.

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tent dress, Cynthia Rowley Simplicity 1105

  1. This looks really comfy! I hate having my picture taken but I’m having to get over that for blog pics, but at the moment I’m having to prop my camera up with recipe books on top of the bins hahaha

  2. megsewing says:

    Good picture takers are hard to find! We don’t have a garden and have been using a phone camera which was awful with indoors lighting. I’m far too self conscious to use a timer on the streets. So my mum takes my pictures and she has been brilliant! She now calls herself my official blog photographer 😛
    I love that dress I first thought it was the Papercut Patterns sway dress, which I had been eyeing up to buy but I’m definitely going to go with this Simplicity one. The fabric you picked is great, it makes it look nice and edgy.
    Growing bump!!! Congradulations!!! 🙂

    • Oh dear, I feel awkward in the street even when I’m with my trusted photographer, I always mumble, ‘quickly, people are coming’ but it really helps to have someone to do the job, so applause for your mum. The dress does look a lot like the Papercut patterns, which I also want to buy, I do like this style. The Simplicity one has a pattern for a top and a skirt as well. And thank you on the bump side, I wonder how many projects I can squeeze in before it becomes prohibitive to make anything haha!

      • megsewing says:

        haha I feel incredibly awkward when I take pictures. We do it early on Sunday so I can avoid as many people as possible!
        Simplicity does give you a lot of bang for your buck but I don’t like how they did the dress on the front of the pattern but now I’ve seen your version I can look past that.
        Try and squeeze a few more makes out! I love reading your posts 🙂

      • I agree the picture doesn’t do the dress any justice, but I’m glad my version helped. I will have some more posts, as I have things already cut out, so I’m aiming to have the sewn before xmas.

  3. It is a pretty fabric. It will be very comfortable and useful, I’m sure! I use a tripod and a timer. And I take a lot of photos to get the one I want!

  4. Kristina says:

    Wow, that dress is gorgeous!! I usually ask my boyfriend to take outfit pictures, but he’s not great at it so I’ll be trying tripod and timer next 😉

Leave a comment