Simplicity 1114 Jumpsuit

dsc07571One of the projects I enjoyed a lot last summer, was Jumping into June. I love jumpsuits and one is never enough, which is why this summer I made a second one. I should have made more than that really.  As sewing time nowadays is limited, I needed something with a simple design that would be comfortable, would see me through summer and be quick to sew. Simplicity 1114 was the perfect candidate. I purchased this with a bundle of other patterns, including some for baby clothes (just warning) from Weaverdee.

dsc07563

This jumpsuit is marked as easy and it really is. There are no zippers, or darts, or sleeves. The pattern comes with three jumpsuit versions and a dress. I chose version B, with the wide legs. I like flowy trousers in the summer as much as I like jumpsuits.

dsc07564

The top is very simple, with straps and an elastic encased in a tube, as well as an elastic waistband and a little belt. Another easy and quick make, you’d think. Well, I managed to mess this up too, luckily not as much as dress of my previous post. I blame it all on working during the night, when my brain should be sleeping.dsc07570To start with, I sewed the two back legs with each other, rather with the front leg. The previous garment had taught me well and I had overlocked all the pieces separately, so that I wouldn’t need to unpick those seams in the event of a disaster. Fortunately, I realised my mistake quickly and I didn’t carry on sewing the front legs with each other too.dsc07565

Next on attaching the top to the bottom, I attached the front side to the back and the back to the front. Seam ripper at hand and unpicking done, I re-attached it correctly this time.

dsc07575

When I finished with it and put it back on, I realised that the straps were quite long. The problem was that they were encased in the elastic tube, which meant further unpicking. At that stage, I wanted the damn thing finished (how long should one be sewing something described as easy?) so I unpicked only the top seam, shortened the straps and sewed them again. If you look close enough there is a little seam where the straps join the top, but it’s easily missed in the print. I love the simplicity of this jumpsuit and how quick it is to make it, if you avoid making the mistakes I did. I know it’s not the most exciting of projects, I have shared but sometimes you need the uncomplicated every day wear. I perhaps needed to raise the crotch a bit, but I like my summer clothes loose, unlike the winter ones, so I didn’t mind that at all.  The fabric is viscose bought from eBay, I cut a size medium, but I think, I could get away with a small too. There is plenty of ease.

I’ve never had a winter jumpsuit. I currently have my eyes on the Eliane jumpsuit by Style Arc and House of Pinheiro, but it may be summer again by the time I make it. Anyone out there, who has sewn it?  I have the Kelly Anorak, the Pulmu Skirt, an idea for a top and a coat for which I have no patterns, plus a couple of baby things, plus invitations and other bits and bobs for a christening, plus, plus, plus, to make, definitely summer before I get my hands on another jumpsuit.

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Simplicity 1114 Jumpsuit

  1. You picked the perfect fabric for this jumpsuit: it looks so breezy and chic and comfortable! (I am so jealous of those of you who find amazing fabric on eBay–I have never had success there!!) And you are not the only one who tries to work when you are tired and ends up making mistakes: there’s a good reason I don’t sew past 9PM or for more than a few hours at a time, LOL! 😀

  2. Well you might have had a set back but the outcome is lovely!

  3. Thimberlina says:

    Yay! Jumping into June revival! Funny that been jumping too this week. This looks great on you, I love how they can be dressed up or down with heals or a denim jacket and flats. I’m thinking of shortening mine next summer and having it as a playsuit for my girlie golfing trip. Looking forward to seeing more of what you’re sewing, including some ‘little’ things 😀

  4. trying to comment in English as again couldn’t comment here. So this jumpsuit is cute and looks great on you, too bad you had all those issue to which I can totally relate, happens the same to me when I keep sewing while beeing tired 😦

    • Σ ευχαριστώ Άιντα, αναρωτιέμαι τι θα κάνω άμα φτιάξω κ τίποτα περίπλοκο, χαχα. Δεν ξέρω τι παθαίνει το WordPress από το κινητό φαίνεται να λειτουργεί με τα Ελληνικά τι να πω, ο πατέρας μου θα είχε σίγουρα κάποια θεωρία συνομωσίας κατά των Ελλήνων😄

  5. it seems wordpress is rejecting greek 🙂

Leave a Reply

