Robe Frida Wear Lemonade

What is it with not having enough time but wanting to make a billion things at the same time? Four months after the birth of this lovely creature, I was itching to get some sewing and other crafting done. img_8335

Off to the internet I went and ordered a pattern from French brand Wear Lemonade, the Frida dress. I had seen a few renditions of the dress online and really loved it. It seemed quite easy to make and its relaxed fit was quite appealing at the time, since there was still baby weight to take into account.

img_8340

The dress features a boat neck, a gathered skirt, short sleeves and a belt. Sounds like a piece of cake right? Well, in my case, I don’t know if it was the permanent lack of sleep, the inability to focus or the midnight sewing, but I managed to make this as hard a sewing project as it could get. It took me a month to finish and another two months to have some photos taken and write a post. Anyone else wants to slow down their sewing? Have a baby, haha!

dsc07541

And here you have me wearing it, next to the fridge like a good 60s model, promoting domestic appliances.

dsc07552

As you can see the top is quite loose, which on the one hand is part of the design, on the other though it’s part of the sewing disaster this dress was. To start with, I used this quite thin and slippery fabric that I fell in love with when I saw it at a remnant’s shop in Greece. I thought it would be perfect for this pattern. I based the size on my measurements at that time and after making a muslin of the top, I cut into the fabric and started sewing. Due to the fabric being thin and frailing easily, I decided that the best approach was to French seam, everything. You see where this is going right?

dsc07548

Some time went by before I went back to it, and trying it on, I realised I had lost weight and the dress was beyond loose fitting, it was huge and unwearable. I cursed my luck and started unpicking the french seams, while the baby was sleeping and at any possible break, I could get. I was determined to finish something. I didn’t unpick the skirt as I didn’t mind a bit of a fuller skirt. I cut a smaller size top and resewed it but this time finished it with the overlocker, I couldn’t bear doing french seams again.

I made a belt as well, but I will spare you the atrocity it is. As I don’t have a hole puncher, I made buttonholes instead and I will leave it at that. I’m wearing it here with my own belt, but since it doesn’t fit in the belt loops it’s not very stable, hence the hem of the dress looks completely uneven, but trust me it’s not. I didn’t use the neck and back facings the second time round and finished the neckline with bias tape, same for the sleeves. The skirt has pockets that I know a lot of you love, but I’m not crazy about them. I did add them though, although I think that if I ever make it again, I will skip them.

I finished this at the end of July and I put back on a couple of days ago when I took the pics and guess what, it needs to be a size smaller, but I will not touch it for now. If one day I find the energy and the time, I may go and unpick all the overlocked seams. I can wear it with my belt and swirl around for the time being. I also need to shorten that slip, I’m wearing.

Overall, I definitely recommend the pattern, despite the problems I had, it is a very easy make, the front and back of the bodice are exactly the same and it comes with a variation for a different neck line, I think it’s a tunic neckline. I would however recommend a more stable fabric, which is also easy to press (this was a nightmare in that department). I can imagine it in a lovely cotton print for spring, hmmm…

Hopefully, this is where I come back to blogging and sewing, both of which I have missed a lot. I have a few more posts with summery makes, before we enter the British winter and then fingers crossed, I will move into the current season. What is everyone making/planning for the next months? I’ve noticed the UK is getting colder by the day.

 

 

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Robe Frida Wear Lemonade

  1. qplourde says:

    Glad to see you back – you look amazing for just having a baby! I really like the fabric for this dress – I know you had some issues with it, but it actually looks like it fits with the pattern pretty well, especially with the flowy skirt. I actually think the loose top looks great in the pictures, but I know how it feels when things don’t feel like they fit right. Great make!

    • Aww, thank you! I also think that this fabric looks great for the dress and I wouldn’t have complained if I didn’t have to unpick it haha! The top isn’t that bad, which is why I’m going to wear it as it is, but will make it smaller next time! Glad to be back! x

  2. Thimberlina says:

    Lovely frock! Love the floatiness of it. Well done in the weight coming off, you look amazing, and your boy is so cute! Glad to have you back 😃

    • Thank you! I have to report that the weight didn’t just go as I had been told by so many women -haha- but a bit of determination and the fact I didn’t have any clothes to wear did the trick! Glad to be back and hopefully his cuteness will leave me some time for further sewing! xx

  3. Your Baby is just too adorable! Look at that smile. You look amazingly fit and trim for having just been pregnant. Good for you! I love this fabric – you had the photo in the header of your blog and it was so swishy… it’s just beautiful! I hope you are happy enough to wear it as it looks lovely on you. I am not familiar with overlockers, but when I use my serger to sew seams – if I find the garment too big – then I just sew the seam over again a 1/4 or a 1/2 inch in to make it smaller. My serger cuts off the excess. No unpicking. I suppose overlockers are different?

    • Thank you Linda! I think I will wear the dress as it is for the time being, I have some more fabric left so I may even attempt another belt to make it more coherent. The overlocker is the same as the serger, and yes I have done the same thing on tops a couple of times, hehe! Definitely saves you from unpicking! 😆

  4. Oh my goodness, that Frida dress is gorgeous on you! And you did it with a baby!!! Congrats on the little one. That fabric and pattern and fit are so fabulous, I wish I could sew myself something like that. I’m thinking of buying a sewing machine when I get some funds, bookmarking nice sewing blogs like this.

    • Oh thank you very much! It is a nice dress and very easy to make, I made it unnecessarily hard haha, so maybe it’s something you could try with the new sewing machine once you have it. I only had a very basic one until recently and I sewed a lot of things on it so you don’t need to buy a very complicated one or very expensive. xx

Leave a Reply

