A diaper bag attempt

I think I have reached that point where I won’t be making any clothes for the time being, unless of course I manage to finish a UFO and a crochet knit that’s half way done.

I’ve been looking at these really stylish diaper bags on Pinterest that are way out of my budget, or the amount of money I’m willing to spend on any of them and I decided to give it a go at making my own.

DSC_0412

As a base for my bag, I used this tutorial from A Mingled Yarn, which I found through a Pinterest search. It seems I turn to Pinterest for everything lately, haha. My aim was for my bag to resemble more the stylish ones, so instead of fabric I used some faux leather which I purchased from eBay. The outside pockets and general measurements are the same as on the tutorial, but then I made the front flap much shorter and omited the strap, that is permanently attached to the bag.

DSC_0414

I added instead a metallic loop on each side to be able to use a strap I already have from another bag, which matches the colour of this one, so I can either wear it sideways or on my shoulder using the handles.

DSC_0420

The front and side pockets are as per the tutorial but they fasten with magnetic clips instead of velcro.

DSC_0417

I lined the inside with a light shade of blue oilcloth, which I thought was a good idea in case there is a spillage of some sort. It will be much easier to clean.

DSC_0418

I also managed to make some compartments in it, admittedly not extremely successfully but they will do the trick and they will serve as dividers in the mayhem that diaper bags apparently are. I should have made them a bit higher …

DSC_0415

There is an extra pocket at the back of the bag, which went a bit wrong in my case, but it is very useable and will come handy despite its shortcomings haha.

The whole project looks slightly wonky but this is mostly down to the fact I have photographed it empty which doesn’t help with holding the shape of the bag. I would have loved to have a picture of it with me carrying it, but it was so cold in the garden that the thought of posing there with the tripod really put me off.

I am very pleased with it but I have to say it was a nightmare to sew, really thick at parts, which resulted in about five broken needles, it even broke the one that was meant for leather. I also need a proper walking foot for the Singer, as the one I had from my brother doesn’t fit. That would have made my job much easier. In any case, I’m planning to use the bag, which hopefully will not disappoint me.

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A diaper bag attempt

  1. Naomi says:

    Wow! I am so impressed. I actually thought the first photo was of the RTW bag you wanted to copy. You should give yourself a massive pat on the back for that.

  2. Ditto the above, I totally thought this was the one you were going to copy! Love it and looks fab in the photos, no one will notice the wonky stitching I’m sure 🙂

    • Thank you! I don’t mind people noticing, haha, there’s only so much you can do with home machines and I think that’s pretty good. Plus I’m more interested in it staying in one piece more than anything else hehe!

  3. ~A says:

    A spectacular sew, my dear!
    You should be very proud of yourself, indeed! You’ve created a stunning replica, and it’s lovely! I’m sorry it gave you so much trouble, but I can see that it was very much worth it in the end, no?
    ~A

  4. Thimberlina says:

    Well done! Ditto ditto above! Looks tricky stuff to see, think I might’ve chucked it out of the window before I’d got to needle number 5! Errm, just to say though, we call ’em changing bags over ‘ere! 😀

  5. That is a really thick fabric. I love the blue! Nice work. Diaper bags are so expensive, you were wise to make one.

  6. Rachel M says:

    Hi, Nice bag. I love the outer fabric, where did you buy it from? I have just made two faux leather jackets and a clutch bag from the scraps. I have a 1950’s singer and I bought a set of new feet including a walking foot off eBay for about £12 including postage. I must admit I doubted how good it would be. The set is brilliant, but be prepared for a bit of delay as they come from China.

    • Thank you! The outer fabric is from eBay, http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/140879545107?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
      Yes it would have been nice if I had a walking foot when making it, I have bought one now and like with the previous machine, I consider it a miraculous piece of sewing equipment to own.

      • Rachel M says:

        Thank you, for the link. Your bag is fab. I remember when my daughter was small making lots of little dresses. She still wears a lot of hand made clothes. Have you looked at subscribing to Ottobre magazine? They have two subscriptions, one for children’s clothes and other for women. The patterns are much better constructed than burdastyle and you can order them in English. http://www.ottobredesign.com If you click on “in English” the websit changes to English. You can just order one back copy too. Click on the picture of th magazine and it gives a look book and a PDF of the line drawings. Enjoy and happy pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

