Handmade Presents

Hello everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas and you have recovered from eating comas, while the eating,  isn’t over yet. At least we carry on in this household.

IMG_6544

While my blog feed is populated by the hit and misses of the sewing inter webs of 2015 and since I only managed to sew 13 items this year (moving house I curse you) I thought I’d show you some of the Christmas presents I made, there were not that many. First I decided not to use any paper wrapping and went mad with sewing these little bags and envelops for some of my presents. I thought it could be something that the recipients could use for storing shoes or other things, plus they looked more like Santa’s sack. In my usual habit of making everything last minute these were no exception and had I planned ahead, I would have probably made a better job of them. Despite that, they were very well received.

IMG_6536I’ve been meaning to make a fur scarf ever since I found these grey lace remnants at Simply Fabrics in Brixton, a present for myself. Well when I came round to actually doing it, I thought that my friend would probably like it, so I packed it for her. The fur is from weaverdee .

IMG_6538

Literally, last minute, the night before we left London, I decided that I had time to make one more thing, which was this fur cape/capelet for my boyfriend’s sister. It’s something I thought she might wear at some point, if not there’s always Halloween. The pattern was one of the projects with patterns on Burda Style website. It’s meant to be longer but I thought it was a bit too much with the fur, so I chopped it for a more wearable version.

DSC_0351

Finally, I made this jenna cardi for my sister, hoping it will at least fit her, there’s good chance she may not like it haha. I used two different fabrics, one I bought in Beijing, but since I knew there wasn’t enough, I bought a similar colour knit from e-bay. I really like how it turned out but it wasn’t without problems, one of them being the fact that the overlocker ate some of the fabric on the top-half creating a massive hole. This resulted in the waist band being much wider than the pattern commands.

DSC_0352

I was quite pleased with the neck band which looks much better than my own unblogged version but not so pleased with that top buttonhole. Still getting used to one step buttonholes on my new sewing machine.

DSC_0354

See how wonky that top buttonhole is compared to the rest of them? In an attempt to cover the overlocking I decided to sew some handmade bias tape around the neckline, button band and waist. The latter wasn’t a great idea, as adding non-stretch fabric to stretch, turns it unfortunately into non-stretch, so now it’s a bit tight but I think it will be ok for my sister. This isn’t her only present either, so if she doesn’t like it, it will not be the end of the world.

DSC_0310

This is my own Jenna Cardi, the test version, so you can see more of the wonkiness here. I’m planning to make another one in 2016, hopefully with better results than this.

I enjoyed making these presents and was pleased that they were received well, or that people at least pretended to like them haha, but I don’t think I will be making a habit of it, it’s great though making little things for family and loved ones.

If you don’t see me back here later, I will take the opportunity to wish everyone a happy new year and happy sewing in 2016.

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Handmade Presents

  1. qplourde says:

    Happy New Year to you too! The gift and gift bags came out great. I made a few things too for the holiday, but didn’t get around to making as much as I would have liked.

  2. Some lovely items, I’m particularly liking the fur and lace scarf 🙂

  3. Good job on making presents! I have never gotten into the habit of doing that, but it is a great idea!

  4. megsewing says:

    The bags are such a lovely touch! I love the fur mini cape.
    Happy new year to you too 🙂

  5. I think you did very well with the gifts. The fur capelet is cute. Enjoy the rest of your Xmas break.

  6. Thimberlina says:

    Well done for making all those gifts! They’re much more time consuming that the recipients realise, and me too. I keep thinking I should start sooner and leave it too late to make everything I’d like to. 😀

  7. You are so awesome for making this many gifts! And garment/accessory ones at that–bravo!! I did some craft gifts this year, which was a first for me, along with 2 pairs of sweatpants for my husband. The entire time, I kept asking myself WHY, lol! Happy New Year!

    • Haha, yes the same question seemed to be constantly on my mind. Well done for the sweatpants and the craft gifts. My sister liked the cardi, even after pointing out everything that was wrong with it, so I guess some people can appreciate the effort. Have a great new year! xx

Leave a Reply

