Made Up Initiative: Simplicity K1665 Trousers

When Karen of Did You Make That launched the Made Up Initiative, I didn’t even think about contributing and pledging to make something. Being part of the publishing industry, it was an automatic reaction to support something that promoted literacy. Of course, I would have supported any other cause as well.

My pledge was to make a proper pair of trousers and that for me meant, woven fabric and one zipper at least. For this reason I chose Simplicity K1665, which came as a freebie with a sewing magazine. I finished it before 10th September but taking pics and blogging took a bit longer, so I missed the prize draw deadline, not that I had any hopes of winning anything haha.

Simplicity K1665

For my version I used some sort of suiting fabric that I bought from the amazing fabric market in Beijing. 2 metres for a mere 1.5GBP. But more about that on a different post. I still haven’t decided whether it is blue and red or black and red.

Fabric

I cut a size 12 for the waist and graded it to size 14 for the hips. It was quite straightforward to make and I didn’t think it was particularly difficult, even for someone with no experience in making this type of trousers.

Simplicity K1665

I don’t know if the creasing on the front is normal but it doesn’t annoy me too much.

K 1665

There’s a bit of sagging in the back but I think if I had made it tighter it would have been uncomfortable while sitting.

K1665

The pattern calls for a lapped zipper at the back but I went for a regular one. I think it looks ok but there’s definitely room for improvement. Apart from the zipper, there are two darts on the front and two at the back.

K1665

I’m not exactly crazy about the style of the trousers on my but maybe I will grow to like them, once I find the right outfit combination. I definitely enjoyed making them.

Although the goal for the Made Up Initiative has been reached and exceeded, it’s never late to give some more, if you haven’t done so already. https://www.justgiving.com/made-up

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Made Up Initiative: Simplicity K1665 Trousers

  1. Beth says:

    They look fantastic! I love the colour (whatever it is!) on you.
    And thank you for the Emery pattern – it came yesterday, and the little bag is a lovely touch. Perfect thank you so much!

  2. Thimberlina says:

    Love em! And love the blue shoes too! Shame you didn’t make the draw, sorry for giving you a hard time 😉

  3. Stupid IPad. I keep dropping blogs from my reader. I think my button is too small! Just stopping by to say I found you again. Nice job on the trousers – good choice of pattern, fabric and fit! Looks lovely!

  4. While I can understand that you aren’t sure about this style on yourself, YOU LOOK AMAZING IN THESE TROUSERS. =) I love them!!! The fabric looks wonderful as trousers and you styled them beautifully with the fitted cropped sweater and cute little pumps. Great job!

  5. These look fab on you! Really like the colour and the shape, lovely!

Leave a Reply

