Bubbles & Yoyos Papercut Pattern Dress & Skirt

This is the last challenge for the IPM 2015 month at The Monthly Stitch and the theme is one pattern two takes. At the beginning of this month I took a trip to NYC and like every good sewer I visited Mood fabrics. To me the shop  is forever associated with Tim Gun saying: Designers you have 30 mins go. Look at the excitement on my face and my crazy eye, haha.

Mood FabricsAs you can suspect, I stayed far longer in there but in the end I came out with this gorgeous stretch cotton.

Yoyo Dress Papercut patterns

I had my eye on the Yoyo Dress from Papercut patterns ever since it was released but didn’t buy until my return from NYC. I thought this fabric was the perfect match for such a modern pattern. My first version is the dress. As it is called the Yoyo dress, to my mind came a yoyo, that was popular was I was a kid. Sadly I couldn’t find one anywhere, so I settled for some bubbles.

Yoyo Dress Papercut Patterns

One of the features that I liked the most in this pattern is the front zipper and the cut-out at the bottom of the skirt. I cut the XS size all the way. I took the bodice in by 2cm on the side seams and on the shoulder seams, but made no other alterations. There are also two pleats on the front skirt.

Papercut Pattern Yoyo Dress

The back has an interesting v-neck on the bodice and two darts. I fiddled a bit with the dress in order to match them with those of the body but we got there in the end. The inside is finished by a facing on the front and back of the bodice as well as around the zipper and the hem.

Papercut Patterns Yoyo Dresss

The ginger boy you can see photobombing my picture, saw the bubbles from afar and came towards me screaming full of joy, “A bubble machine, a bubble machine” Now I have never been called that before and he was clearly disappointed when it was only me no bubble machine.

Yoyo Dress Papercut Patterns

For my second version, I chose the skirt option in a pink very subtle plaid suiting fabric, bought locally this time. The details are more visible on this fabric that isn’t as busy as the one of the dress. I cut the same size again but I could have gone to S perhaps, although it’s not tight or anything.
Papercut Patterns Yoyo Skirt

I used the bodice of the dress to create a crop jacket with flounce sleeves.  I haven’t attempted anything like that before and although it’s not perfect, I think it turned out really well and compliments the skirt.

Papercut patterns Yoyo skirt

For the flounce sleeve, I used a tutorial I found on pinterest but I don’t seem to have pinned, so it will have to follow at a later stage. From the side it looks as if I have this massive belly but it really is the way I’m pushing the fabric forwards.

Yoyo Skirt Papercut Patterns

I kept the design of the original bodice at the back but omitted the diarists I didn’t want it ti be fitted and added about 5cm of extra fabric in order to make it more interesting

Yoyo Skirt papercut Patterns

The inside of the skirt is finished in the same way as the dress and the jacket is fully lined with a flowery viscose that I bought for another project.

Papercut patterns Yoyo skirtPersonally I love both versions and I’m sure to wear them both. If you like the style I obviously recommend the pattern. Perhaps not for an absolute beginner but definitely for someone who wants a bit of a challenge. The instructions are very clear, the only point I was confused was on the insertion of the facings for the bodice, but I worked it out in the end. If you can buy the paper pattern, there’s always the beautiful packaging that comes with it.

Which version will you  choose? Have you sewn it already?Papercut Patterns Yoyo Dress

Papercut Patterns Yoyo Dress

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Bubbles & Yoyos Papercut Pattern Dress & Skirt

  1. These are great. The dress is a knock out and I am in awe at how you turned that drss ito a fabulous little suit. Wow.

  2. Really love the bold pattern on the first one in particular, suits the modern lines of the dress really well. These both seem to suit your character perfectly, two great additions to your homemade wardrobe 🙂

    • Oh yes, my handmade wardrobe is growing, I find it imperative at the moment as the warm weather requires lighter clothing and my boyfriend somehow managed to put all my summer clothes into storage! Thank you!!

  3. Thimberlina says:

    Wow, no one would mutually think they’re the same pattern as the style and vibe are so different. The 2 piece would be lovely for a wedding outfit and the dress would be fab for the night do to party in!
    Well done and good luck!! 🍀

    • Thank you! I wanted to use very different fabrics to see whether the modern style would work with something more classic, I think it works with both and you are right they would be great for wedding and partying.

  4. τι πανέμορφο ύφασμα είναι αυτό; ένας καμβάς γεμάτος χρώματα και το φόρεμα βγήκε πολύ ωραίο. πόσο ζηλέυω που πήγες στο mood’s, είχα πάει και εγώ Νέα Υόρκη πριν από 5 χρόνια αλλά τότε η ραπτική δεν υπήρχε ουτέ καν στη φαντασία μου. Μ’αρεσει πολύ ο τρόπος που χρησιμοποιήσες το πατρόν στη δεύτερη εκδοχή είναι πολύ όμορφο το συνολάκι και σου πάει τέλεια.

    • Ευχαριστώ πολύ για τα καλά λόγια. Είναι φανταστικό μέρος, λίγο σαν λαβύρινθος το Mood’s, με ένα δωμάτιο γεμάτο κουμπιά και δαντέλες, ο παράδεισος μου, χαχα!

  5. PinhouseP says:

    The dress is fabulous! Love that fabric, the colors are just perfect for you! The 2-piece is wonderful too, but so different 🙂 Would not have guessed it was the same pattern, although the skirt front kind of gives it away;) well done!

  6. I like your choice of fabrics, very lively! Looks good on you too!

  7. Lily Lau says:

    I love the pink design, so much! 🙂

  8. Pingback: iWardrobe – SKIRTS Number 1 | Valeria Speck

Leave a Reply

