Lottie Skirt and the hard to photograph pink Bellatrix

At the beginning of this year, I decided I was going to sew more and buy less patterns and fabric. The first one I didn’t manage to do, but I’ve been pretty good with the second one. One thing I did buy though, was Love Sewing magazine and I grew quite fond of their sewing patterns. The style appeals to my aesthetic, as the designers would probably say at Project Runway. My latest attempt was the Lottie SkirtLottie Skirt Love Sewing MagazineI was in need of a simple pencil skirt for work, that would look smart but the style would allow me to combine it with shirts, blouses and tops and this is perfect. It is slightly high waisted with two darts at the front.

Lottie Skirt

It was very easy to grade between sizes, as I have a tiny waist and massive hips in comparison, haha, but the fit was really good without many adjustments. The fabric is from good old Fabric Land in Brighton and I like how it makes the skirt a bit more special.Lottie Skirt

I didn’t have an invisible zipper so I used a normal one, which doesn’t look bad and I also used a simple split rather that the option of the pleat. The truth is, I just couldn’t be bothered with it.  I will definitely make some more of these, in solid colours for easier combinations. It’s also very quick to make. One thing I will do next time though is to interface the waistband as I think, it’s a bit too soft, without the interfacing.

As you will have noticed, all the pictures feature a pink jacket. This is my latest Bellatrix, which simply wouldn’t photograph well for this post.

Bellatrix Blazer

See how blurred it looks compared to the skirt, plus my face is a no comments moment. Anyway, I think I will have to do a separate post for it as my hair and the red background don’t help at all, with the colour of the jacket. I just wanted to say that I have finished it though. I wore both of them during the book fair in London and they both faired well during a day full of meetings 😉

Have you made anything out of Love Sewing magazine? What do you think of the free patterns in their patterns?

Hope you are all enjoying the bank holiday.

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lottie Skirt and the hard to photograph pink Bellatrix

  1. Beth says:

    I love your skirt! In fact I love the whole outfit, even your blurry jacket! It all fits you so well. I have made the Lottie skirt but only in a grey wool so it’s not as nice looking as yours! Did you find the waistband pattern piece to be too small next to the skirt piece? I had to cut a bigger sized waistband to fit the skirt!

    • Thank you!! Yes we should put an alert here, that the waistband needs to be cut a size bigger than the actual waist. I sort of noticed after having cut the main pieces that the waistband looked small so I cut the bigger size. Thank you for pointing out! 🙂

  2. Laura says:

    Oh lovely! I subscribe to the magazine, but haven’t made any of the patterns yet, mostly for lack of time. This skirt is definitely on the ‘to make one day’ list.

  3. Andie L. says:

    The skirt looks amazing on you. I love that print, too. 🙂

  4. Nice job on fitting the skirt. It looks very professional. Nice you can make the whole outfit!!

  5. Thimberlina says:

    They look stunning together! And the fits great too! I have collected and like all the patterns but only used the ruby dress,which looked a buggar on me as a muslin so didn’t go any further! 😁

  6. Well fitted skirt and totally flattering on you. I have the ruby dress too, gifted from my best friend living in UK, but have not made it yet. Have tried Burda patterns though and they are pretty good, my only problem is their greek instructions, really hard to figure out what to do due to my lack of experience.
    Waiting to see your jacket post!

Leave a Reply

