Top 5 favourite & not so favourite makes of 2014

Top 5 Lists 2014 Crafting a Rainbow

Gillian at Crafting a Rainbow is hosting the Top 5 of 2014. I’m sure you have seen the lists popping everywhere around the blogosphere and since I have more handmade clothes this year, I decided to give it a go, too. Plus I’m not planning to make anything else this year and the only craft I will be exploring is this one. (it’s a Christmas present but couldn’t wait)

Most Worn items (I do more sewing during the summer by the looks of it, what can I say, it’s my favourite season)

1. Burda 7137

I loved this dress and it got a lot of wear from work to evenings out. I still love the fabric and I’m bound to make one more. This is probably the best dress I made in 2014 and it really showed me how better results one can have with patience. Unfortunately the latter ended with this dress, haha!

Look with excitement at the new that awaits out this door

Burda 7137

2. Red Velvet Dress Cake Patterns

This was a great match of pattern and fabric resulting in one of my most worn dresses of the year. I’ve worn it during the less hot days of summer in the UK (too thick for Greece though) and through the winter we had so far, with tights and a cardigan. Definitely a pattern I need to make more of.

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress

3. Mabel Skirt

I love this version of the Mabel skirt. It can be dressy or more casual and funky depending on what you combine it with. It’s been worn almost every week at work, with the top in the picture or other combinations. I loved it so much I made another version in the more staple colour black

Mabel skirt & Moneta Colette Patterns

4. Black & White Stripey Dress

There was not enough nice Greek weather for this dress but it did get a lot of wear while I was there. I love this dress for a lot of reasons. I didn’t think I could match stripes as well as on this dress and realised that I have the skills to do more things than I thought. This is another item that I took a while to make and paid attention to getting a good fit as much as possible. I love wearing it, it makes me feel tall and airy. Stripey Black & White Dress back

5. Burda Hawaiian shirt 

When the boyfriend said he wanted a handmade shirt, I had no idea how much he would like this one. If I didn’t take it from him to wash it, he would have carried on wearing it all summer non-stop (now let’s not imagine that, haha)

Full Gear

Now the least favourite ones

1. The Bellatrix Blazer

I love the Bellatrix and I still haven’t made another version of it. I really liked the fabric on this but found it really hard to combine with anything but solid colours and I don’t have a lot of them (I like a good print) so it didn’t get worn very often. It was also a size bigger than I needed and there something that tells me I will like the shortest version more. Nevertheless, this was my first attempt at sewing a jacket and welt pockets, I still remember how baffled I was by that haha. Watch this space in 2015

I got bugs in my room...

2. Burda Dress with Flutted Sleeves

That was the dress that didn’t happen and because a) I loved the fabric too much, b)I  have issues with letting go I turned it into a blouse.I wore it three times maximum, as it was too tight around the arms and felt like wearing a polka dot armour.

Burda Dress with Fluted Sleeves

4. The Nettie Bodysuit 

Another one of my favourite patterns of the year. Loved everything about it and the particular bodysuit. However, the really low back made it difficult to wear, purely because I’m so cold haha. Plus the particular fabric didn’t have enough stretch and I was always scared I’m going to lose the top part of the bodysuit. Another space to watch.

Nettie Bodysuit 5. I will add here some of the projects I haven’t blogged, not because I don’t want to show the disasters but because in the case of a disaster I always feel so demotivated that I’m in no mood to take any pics. The Emery Dress, I have seen lovely versions but mine was very unfortunate, the waist was much higher than my natural waist, I managed to make it shorter than I wanted and the fabric was on the thick side making the gatherings quite bulky, to be remade and blogged. The Peony dress had similar problems with the Emery, so needs to be remade. The Afternoon blouse, lovely pattern, made only a wearable muslin, so needs remaking in the appropriate fabric and size.

Speaking of size, I may need to go one up after Christmas as at the moment, I keep moving my hands towards this tray of traditional Greek Christmas treats. Merry Christmas everyone!!!!!!

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Top 5 favourite & not so favourite makes of 2014

  1. lauralu says:

    I love dress 1 & 3. They are lovely on you!

  2. Some excellent makes, well done! Have a great Christmas 🙂

  3. Amanda says:

    Happy Christmas! 🎄

  4. You sure had some great makes this year! That B&W dress is just amazing! Can’t wait to see what you get up to in 2015–have a happy New Year!

  5. qplourde says:

    You are so talented, I’m just in awe of all those dresses. Happy New Year to you!

  6. gilliancrafts says:

    What a great range of projects! The stripe dress is just gorgeous – I want one too!
    Thanks for joining in the Top 5 lists! I’m always happy to find new-to-me blogs!

    • Thank you for visiting and for organising the Top 5 lists. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and definitely discover new blogs, I have started following a few already purely from the threads left on your blog.

  7. emsewcrazy says:

    You have some great pieces! Keep up the good work!

  8. mrshbookworm says:

    That stripy dress is just beautiful!!! And the first dress- the red Burda! Wow!

  9. Your black and white dress will always remain a favourite of mine! A very happy New Year to you.. xxx

Leave a Reply

