Françoise Dress Tilly & The Buttons

I’ve always loved 60s A line dresses. They’re flattering, playful and allow ease of movement. Tilly’s latest pattern the Françoise dress is all of the above plus extremely cute. To add to the whole loveliness of the pattern Tilly runs a competition with 10 amazing presents.

Françoise Dress Tilly and the buttons

The pattern is an A line dress with French darts and raglan sleeves. There is also a sleeveless option and an optional collar. This is my second version of the dress. The first one isn’t finished yet as the hack on the pattern was rather ambitious and lack of time prevented me from finishing it on time. It will hopefully be on the blog before Christmas though. For this finished version I used a turquoise cotton sateen that I bought from a remnants shop in Greece, when I was there is the summer. It was sitting on my stash since then, not really having the right pattern for it.

Françoise Dress Tilly and the Buttons

I created a bib at the front cutting off part of the dress and adding on it blue lace with a bit of purple detail that I found on the internet. I also added three fabric covered buttons from the main fabric.

Françoise Dress Tilly & the buttons

I gave the sleeves the same treatment as the bib for coherence.

Françoise Dress Tilly & the buttons

I cut size 2 of the dress, although I could go with size 1 for the top for a more fitted version. The pattern is easy  and quick to make, plus you get Tilly’s detailed instructions and pictures to go with it. I loved the little booklet that comes with the pattern. Tilly also ran a sew-allong on her blog which was a lot of help. I particularly liked this tip on marking the centre of the darts. It was also the first time I made french darts and I loved the way they shape the dress. Of course,  mine wasn’t without disasters, hehe! So while pressing the newly fitted collar and facing, I didn’t notice how high the temperature on my iron was, resulting in not only melting part of the lace but also transferring all that on my collar, argh! This took me quite back on my sewing, as I had to replace both the lace and the collar, but all ended well and me with a great dress. You can #SewingFrancoise on Pinterest to see some of the other great entries. Today is the last day for entries and after the shortlist is compiled there will be some voting, so fingers crossed you will see me back here begging for your vote, haha! Until then have a great week.

Françoise dress

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Françoise Dress Tilly & The Buttons

  1. I keep seeing so many lovely versions if this patter. I particularly like your colour and contrast fabric detail on yours. It really suits you 🙂

  2. Béa says:

    So cute! Good luck in the competition!

  3. Thimberlina says:

    My favourite fançoise so far! Love it! 😀✂️😀

  4. Such a cute dress–the color is gorgeous! You look sensational in this silhouette, too! Good luck in the contest!

  5. Amanda says:

    I love that style! You look great! Good luck! 💝

  6. qplourde says:

    Wow, good luck! I love A line dresses too – and I really like what you’ve done with this one!

  7. Diane says:

    Super cute…and you styled it to a tee….you look like you stepped out of the 60s!!! Best of luck!

  8. You have done amazing work with this pattern? Well done and good luck with the competition.

    • Ευχαριστώ πολύ, όπως είδες ο καιρός της Αγγλίας είναι το ακριβώς αντίθετο από το δικό σου ηλιόλουστο. Καλη επιτυχία κ σε σένα. 🙂

  9. You picked a very nice blue for your dress, also adding the lace was a nice touch! Looks great, even if it almost melted! 😀

Leave a Reply

