Bronte Top (again) & Mabel skirt (again)

It’s been a while since my last post. In the general madness of everyday life, I decided to do NanoWrimo (National Novel Writing Month) this November. I only discovered it last year and I was gutted it wasn’t in time to participate. During Nanowrimo participants try to write a novel of 50K words in 30 days and this is what a basically did for the biggest part of November. But now that Nanowrimo and my 50K are finished, I can go back to sewing.

Yeayy me!!

Yeayy me!!

So the first thing I wanted to make after this long month of typing was something easy and nice and there’s nothing nicer than another Bronte top. I just love this pattern and having made it twice already it was really easy to put together this time.

Bronte Top

I’m not sure exactly what the fabric is but it’s very soft on the inside and sparkly on the outside, perfect for the holiday season that’s fast approaching.

Bronte Top

I’ve noticed lately that I have a lot of prints in my closet but hardly any solids. As much as I love prints they don’t always go together, so the plan is to make some more clothes in solid colours. The top is paired with a Mabel skirt from Colette Patterns, this is version A and it is the easiest skirt I have ever made. Black is one of these colours that they can be easily combined with anything. I particularly like the Mabel skirt because it can be casual and a more dressy skirt depending on the fabric and the styling. Not much to add about these two patterns but I can’t promise you will not see them again here.

Mabel Skirt Bronte Top

Next on my sewing table is the Françoise dress by Tilly and The Buttons in this amazing combination of colours (so much for staples). My mum bought me the fabric while visiting a couple of weeks ago.

Fabric

But until I start cutting it have a good week everyone and hopefully I will be back with something different next time 🙂

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bronte Top (again) & Mabel skirt (again)

  1. I love this top, so keen to get the pattern myself. Looks great together on you 🙂

  2. smeebot says:

    Oh I love the sparkly fabric and it looks really well fitted. I have the Bronte pattern, but haven’t had time to make it yet, I think I better bump it up the list.

  3. Fantastic top! And congrats on the writing..no mean feat..were you happy with what you wrote? xxx

    • Thank you! As for the writing, I’m happy with the story, the writing isn’t my best work but it is something that is a good foundation for further development. The whole writing on the train left me with a very bad backache though, haha! xx

Leave a Reply

