Tops, tops Dolores meets Bronte

It’s at times like these, when the weather suddenly changes from lovely autumn to winter that I realise I don’t have enough tops to wear under cardigans or just on their own. I’ve always liked the Jennifer Lauren’s Bronte Top from the moment it came out. I really like her patterns and have also bought the Afternoon Blouse, which I have made and enjoyed but haven’t blogged about it. Next spring now, hehe. I bought the Bronte Top as part of the Perfect Pattern Parcel #6, which was an amazing selection of patterns and I can’t wait to make some more the ones in the parcel.

I made two versions of the top, both purely for trying out the pattern. The first one was made out of an existing top, which was a bigger size and I didn’t particularly like so I didn’t feel too bad about cutting it up. I went a little bit overboard with the buttons but I really like the effect. Also as the existing top wasn’t long enough, I used some leftover fabric for the front shoulders. I’m warning you that I’ve taken the pics myself and the help of the tripod, so in most of them I look as if I was about to have a stroke.

Bronte Top Jennifer Lauren Vintage

 

 

The second Bronte top was made out of the same leftover fabric and one of my boyfriend’s old t-shirts. There’s a bit of pulling on one side but I think it’s probably down to the fact, I needed a smaller size or simply I have done something wrong. No buttons this time 🙂

Bronte top Jennifer Lauren Vintage

Before the Bronte Top though, I bought So Zo’s  Dolores Batwing Top. It did look like a quick, easy and stylish make, and after seeing some cool versions in the blogosphere, I thought I’d give it a go myself. I really wanted to make the dress but didn’t have enough fabric so I settled for a top first. I used this loud print and as I didn’t have that much I didn’t even center the pattern.

Dolores Batwing Top

Let me tell you about this pattern. It will not disappoint you. The instructions are amazing and the end product, depending on what fabric you use, could be a casual top or one that’s a bit more dressy. It took me about an afternoon to cut and sew two of them and I’m not the fastest sewer in the world.

Dolore Batwing Top

 

For the second version, I used an old black dress that I was going to throw away, a lace top that I wasn’t going to wear as it was too big and I had already cut for another project that would definitely not come to life and the sequins detail from that old dress.

Dolores Batwing top

And because it’s quite hard to see any detail on a black garment, this one not being a good picture in general, here’s some more detail.

Dolores Batwing Top Detail

Dolore Batwing Top Detail

I highly recommend these patterns and I already have plans for more with some proper fabric this time. These are probably the only two patterns that I have made twice straight away. Have you done the same with any patterns that you really liked?

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tops, tops Dolores meets Bronte

  1. Some very clever upcycling projects, with excellent results. I love it when you can give unloved items a new lease of life, well done! 🙂

  2. Anne W says:

    I love the print for the Delores, it’s so cool! & great upcycling with the sequins, I’m a sucker for sparkles!

  3. Andie L. says:

    These look amazing on you! 🙂 I adore the black lace Dolores. ❤

  4. Very nice! I went wild and made three or four SBCC Tonic tops. That pattern worked out well for me. I will have to look at the Bronte next, I guess!

    • Thank you! I don’t usually make anything twice. but these two tops seemed to work so well with my general style and the Bronte is as flattering and versatile as the Dolores. Looking forward to seeing your version!

  5. I really admire your upcycling skills–that seems so much more intimidating than taking flat, fresh fabric and starting from scratch! =) I really like that batwing top on you, too; I’ve seen them around and was usually “meh” about trying one out, but now I’m re-considering…

    • Thank you! I always thought the opposite about upcycling, because it it’s an old piece of clothing I don’t tend to care that much about ruining it, then again you need to economise a lot haha! You should try the Dolores, I was sceptical about it and then saw all sorts of versions and they all looked so nice. Plus you get freedom of movement and flying 😉

  6. Wow…. What?? I’ve never seen anything so creative! I am in love with the black one! I envy your talent– I get ideas and they stay in my head because I not good with my hands. Hmmm that came out oddly but you know what I mean…. Great blog!

    • Oh thank you that’s very sweet of you to say! However, you’re so creative and clever with words, you probably express these ideas in another way, plus I love anything that cracks me up, I read the thanksgiving buffet at work and it was hard not to get noticed hahah! Thank you for stopping by!

  7. Zoe says:

    Holy smokes all four of these are A-MAZING!!! I too love the Bronte tee, your use of two fabrics on each i really innovative. And I’m just thrilled to bits that you enjoyed using the Dolores batwing pattern. The black version is stunning. Would you mind if I included it in a blog post in a couple of months time? Zoe xxx

Leave a Reply

