Day of the Dead

Hope you all had a nice Halloween! Before it disappears completely on the way to Christmas, I thought I’d submit my contribution to the celebration.

The day of the dead is a Mexican celebration, as i’m sure a lot of you know,  in memory of the loved ones that died. I joined some friends at the Old Market in Brighton for Copperdollar‘s Back of Beyond. It was a spectacular party, with happenings during the night. If they come your way you should take the opportunity to experience the show. Well, it’s not exactly a show that you watch but one that you participate. It was great to see so many people dressed up as Catrinas and some other creatures. For my outfit, I bought this lovely fabric with skulls from my usual place, Fabric Land in Brighton and during the night I did see the fabric decorating some other costumes one way or another.

Catrina

Back to the corridor of doom

For the bodice I used, by Hand London’s Flora dress, I really like this bodice, it’s so simple and elegant and so easy to put together. I thought it would be perfect for this outfit as I wanted something that would allow me to move freely. There was a lot of dancing involved.  For the bottom, I drafted a half circle skirt on an old sheet and then cut strips of fabric and sewed them on it to create a tiered skirt.

Semi circle skirt

Later I thought that the skirt of the actual pattern would be equally good but I did want my dress to look a bit like the Mexican dresses of the Catrinas. As usual, I did everything last minute and that is very obvious at the back of the dress. The zipper has gone nuts and so has the hem on one side. Since it was Halloween, I wasn’t that upset, haha!

CatrinaFor the flower head piece, I bought some white flowers from pound land and then painted them with fabric colour, nail polish and some acrylic paint. The second one was for a friend.Flower head piece

Head piece with flowersThe make up was a bit of a challenge as I left the buying until Friday. I tried two fancy dress shops in London at lunch time and there were queues of more than 50 people waiting to get in. Who queues to get into a shop? Certainly not me. It was after trying a couple more shops that I realised that perhaps queueing outside those shops might not have been such a bad idea. I ended up using some of my own make-up as by the time I got to Brighton everything was closed and on Saturday, I had to make the dress if I didn’t want to go naked to the party. I think it turned out pretty well, bearing in mind the limited stuff I had. Taking it all off at 2:00a.m wasn’t fun at all.

Day of the Dead Make upI will leave you with some of the other participants in that night of the dead. The quality of the pics isn’t that nice because I took them on my mobile and there wasn’t enough light in there but hopefully you get the idea of how awesome it was. Have a good week everyone.

Me and my friend in a deforming mirror looking like proper midgets

Me and my friend in a deforming mirror looking tiny, look at those hobbit feet

IMG_5054

The Skeleton Girls

The lit umbrellas after the storm

The lit umbrellas after the storm

Skeletons

 

Calavera Catrina

Lady Catrina did a dance and we all joined

 

 

 

 

 

 

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day of the Dead

  1. Angela Muller says:

    Great job…..loved your costume.

  2. How cool! Your makeup looks really good, especially considering you just used whatever you had already! And I agree: a few imperfections are totally allowed for a Halloween outfit. =)

  3. Laura says:

    Haha! This looks like great fun!

Leave a Reply

