What I did on the train

Battersea Power StationWell I didn’t make anything unfortunately, and didn’t take any pictures of anything I have already made, but hopefully I will get back on track shortly.

I did finish a book which I started reading on the train, carried on, on the plane, the bus, in bed and at the beach. It was only when walking that I stopped in fear of killing myself or even worse, someone else.  The book that just wouldn’t finish was Donna Tart’s The Goldfinch. I loved Donna Tart because of her Secret History, a novel that haunted me ever since I read it. I still remember feeling hypnotized by it walking in some dim-lit corridors of a foreign campus.  I continued with The Little Friend which was a disappointment as I couldn’t even finish it and finally donated to charity when I left London. And then came The Goldfinch, a book frequently described as brilliant, magic, true literature, a masterpiece, long-awaited, praises not easily ignored, especially by someone always on the look for the next captivating story. So I bought it and carried it everywhere, to the extent that it is no longer presentable. An unfortunate outing with a wet towel caused it to double up in size. Throughout the reading process there were times I wanted to put it on the shelf of the unfinished novels, but insisted as I was still searching for that gem that everyone talked about, the quest for the holly grail. Did I find it? Well, no. It’s an exceptionally well crafted novel, with intricate details, with an atmosphere that comes to life in front of your eyes but at no point did I think I was reading the same book all these people called masterpiece. Don’t get me wrong there were parts of it that are truly unique, so beautifully written. However most of it is a bit boring . But that’s only my personal opinion, maybe I’m not equipped to understand these novels. Just for the record though,  I like neither Brad Pitt nor George Clooney, so you get the idea.

Via Heather Lou’s Closet Case files I discovered The Sewing Affair Podcast, if you haven’t discovered it already, I urge you to go there straight away, it’s highly recommended. I listened to all the episodes, one after the other. I found Lauren Dahl extremely inspirational to the point I wanted the stupid train to get home faster, so that I go and work on my billion projects. haha.

Loved, loved this Marimekko dress on Bernie and I. All her garments make me smile but this one is cray happy. And on the note of happy & crazy colours, check out this orange Moneta by Sew Pretty in Pink, so cool. Seeing Marie’s  bicycle simplicity 5489 this morning filled me with joy. Isn’t that back gorgeous?

Collar EA

Probably the 5th magazine I’ve opened in a month featuring this collar

And now confession time! I have been obsessed with this collar, have stalked it on the internet and in magazines. Of course at the price of £200, it’s not an advisable purchase but I intend to make something similar and I promise I will post it.

That’s it for today, but maybe I will be back tomorrow with some train adventures, hopefully not the ones that take you home two hours later than the schedule time.

 

 

 

 

 

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in Books, Fashion, I'm on a train, Read it on the train and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

