Made by the grandma, given to the mum worn by the daughter

One of the reasons I sew and like making things is watching my grandma working on this Singer sewing machine, throughout my childhood. When my mum was a teenager she wore handmade by grandma, so did my aunt and my grandma herself. I wish I had scanned some pictures of them wearing the wonderfully handmade clothes, coming out of this machine and the talented hands of my grandma.

Singer

I have never sewn anything on it, both mum and grandma were too scared to let me, not in fear of breaking it but of breaking myself by sewing through my fingers. I’ve sneaked in the basement a couple of times, when I was still in Greece and played with it, one time I did break it and then pretended it wasn’t me. Shame on me!

Singer

The best thing about it, is the pedal, which also makes it hard to use, especially if you like me, lack in the co-ordination department.

Singer

I love these two drawers on each side where grandma always keeps her bobbins and buttons, zippers, things she may need at any time in the creative process. I still go through them, hoping to find some treasure when I visit. Oh, I will never grow up.

singer drawerSinger drawer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When my mum got married in the late 70s this sewing machine was an accessory to the creation of the reception dress. It is a simple white dress but it has always held a certain importance in my mind because it was handmade and it used to hang in the wardrobe of the same room with the Singer for many years after it was worn on that day, until I discovered it.

White dress handmade

And since it fit, it got in my suitcase and travelled with me to the UK. My grandma keeps saying now that I’m like my mum every time I put it on. I need to take a picture wearing it, rather than having it on this awkwardly shaped mannequin.

White dress

white dress

 

The machine doesn’t have any special feet, like for invisible zipper hence this, is a normal one. It doesn’t look perfect or shop bought but I think that’s what makes it special, there’s a certain quality about it.

White Dress

The dress comes with a jacket of the same colour and of the same maker 🙂 I took that with me some years ago and I’ve been wearing it ever since. I just love the fact that it’s not exactly white, it looks a bit as if it’s a grown old white and when in the UK I pray for nice weather so that I can put it on.

White jacket

I’ve worn it everywhere, from evenings out, to business meetings, to trips abroad and sadly that shows. Can you see how the left shoulder looks a bit worn? It came off after leaving a meeting with a bag full of heavy books, so it had to be sewn back on with my own sewing machine and let me tell you, it’s not half as good as that classy lady.

white jacketI find the inside as impressive as the outside, purely because my grandma had no serger or any other means of finishing the garment than her hands. I think the bias tape is handmade as well.

White jacket handmade

white jacket

Sadly the buttons aren’t the original ones, as they started breaking after a couple of washes, but the rest of it, still in one piece 30 years plus later.

white jacket

White jacket

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t know if the garment is going to last much longer but this beauty is definitely going to. I’ll see to that 🙂 Singer

 

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Made by the grandma, given to the mum worn by the daughter

  1. What a lovely narrative and a great hobby to bond over. Enjoyed reading this, and lovely, old machine 🙂

  2. Just love this post..it’s what makes sewing and families special… xxx

    • It’s like this long thread connecting families and generations by its drawing on the fabric. I’m still amazed that these two pieces are still wearable and there’s the groom’s outfit as well 🙂 I need to find those pics with the wedding dress, I think you’d like it 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

