Let them eat cake…

Because it’s their birthday. The Monthly Stitch is one year old. Birthdays for me are an opportunity for a bit of madness and silly. Soo to celebrate, not only did I make cupcakes, not only did I sew some, but I managed  to sort of dress myself into one too, well sort of. (Long post but mostly pictures)

For the cupcakes I used the recipe for the Green Velvet Cupcake. Below are some very helpful (probably not) step by step instructions.

Let them eat cake

Let them eat cake

Let them eat cake

Of course, every celebration requires the appropriate outfit. For this particular one, I finally put my scissors on this hideous, in my opinion garment, that I had to wear as a bridesmaid at a wedding about 3 years ago. Surprisingly it still fitted me.

Let them eat cake

I used the bottom part to create a gathered skirt with an elastic waist band. Very easy to make, although the chiffon was quite slippery.

Let them eat cake gathered skirt and top

The base for the top is no other than the Closet Case Files Nettie, (didn’t I say I was going to make more?) cut on a beige mesh of some sort. For the frosting I used billions of chiffon petals that I spent far too much time cutting and sewing, but it was worth it.

Let them eat Cake Nettie top

The back gapes (is this the right word?) a bit as the base fabric is too thin and the frosting a bit too heavy but still that back, such a great effect! The earrings are handmade and believe it or not they’re paper, a present by the amazing Lefty’s Handcrafts.

Let them eat cake nettie

For the sewn, not edible cupcakes, I used the free pattern from Funky Friends Factory. Lovely to make and they look so cute, admittedly not so professional as lovely Pauline’s.

Felt cupcakes

Now all the work is done, it’s time for the celebrations, eating that is.

No, no I will resist to the temptation

No, no I will resist temptation

oh well, you live once, so delicious

oh well, you live once, so delicious

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let them eat cake…

  1. It’s truly a great and helpful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you just shared this useful information with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

