Burda Hawaiian Shirt 04/2012 for the Geek in your life

You can’t imagine my surprise when my boyfriend complained in a sad kind of tone to one of my friend’s that I have never sewn anything for him. To be honest, I’m not a big fun of men’s clothes and I didn’t think, he wanted to wear something handmade. He seemed pretty happy with his M&S purchases. Since we were coming to Greece on holidays we thought it appropriate to try a Hawaiian Shirt and Burda 04/2012 seemed easy enough for a first attempt at making a man’s shirt.

Burda Hawaiian shirt

The fabric is a lightweight cotton, bought from this ebay shop. We purchased 2 metres initially but some mistake with the collar, meant that I didn’t have enough for the sleeves, so we purchased an extra metre.

The pattern has a back pleat with an additional band sewn on top of it. I couldn’t understand what I was meant to do, so I skipped that part. I think it looks alright. 🙂

Hawaiian Shirt

The seams are flat-felled and I admit, I had no clue what that was, so there’s a new technique, I would have probably not learned, if I never made this shirt. It is a very clever way of dealing with the raw seams and it creates such a nice effect on the outside. It may be a bit hard to see because of the busy pattern on the fabric.

HAWAIIAN SHIRT SEAMSFlat felled seams inside

For the first time I also made more than one buttonholes with my sewing machine and I surprisingly enjoyed it. The sewing of the buttons not so much though. I used a lightweight fusible interfacing for the buttonholes and some buttons from my stash that just happened to match hehe.Buttons Hawaiian shirt

buttons

The collar was the most challenging part of the shirt, so much it made me hate it a bit at that point. To start with I didn’t seem to be getting it right, size wise, first time it was too small, second too long, the third was about right, but you will see where I have tortured the fabric a bit. The inside is finished with a flat-felled seam and is top-stitched on the outside.

collar

collar Hawaiian Shirt

As for the geek in my life he’s the man behind most of the photographic on this blog and a big fun of gadgets, like the crazy google glass he wears and the army of drones he wants to build haha! (He keeps killing them though). Do you get asked for handmade garments by your partners or do you just go ahead and sew them anyway?

Full Gear

 

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

