Casual stroll in the Red Velvet Cake dress

When you live by the sea and the weather is nice you feel compelled, obliged in the least, to go outside, even if it’s for a little while.

Red Velvet Dress Cake Patterns

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress

Are you coming?

Oh, ok, I will come and get you...

Oh, ok, I will come and get you…

This is the red velvet dress from cake patterns. I’ve never sewn anything from them but I have their Gabarita top in my to sew list as well. The fabric is again from that fabric shop in Lisbon, I don’t know it’s length, but when I bought it, I figured out it would be long enough for a nice project, like this one. I love how the pattern and the colours match that of the building in our neighbourhood. I definitely fit in here, haha.

For the front I cut the bodice a bit too big for my size, hence the pleats look a bit funny, but then again, I quite liked the less fitted bodice, so I kept it and just made the pleats a bit bigger/longer.

Red Velvet Dress Cake Patterns

For the back bodice, I actually used the style of the  Gabarita top, because the whole fun in sewing is altering the pattern no? I’m very pleased with the way it turned out.

Cake Patterns red Velvet Dress

 

 

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress

The only thing that I found a bit frustrating was fitting the front and back midriff. I unpicked it twice, and you know how hard it is to break those serger seams. It ended up ok in the end, but sort of made me lose the will to sew.

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress

I really enjoyed making this dress, the instructions are very clear and there is a lot of potential for fabric combinations. I loved the pleats at the front and the back and I’d love to make it again. I can see it both in my winter and summer wardrobe. Oh and I got a compliment on it, while standing outside the flat from one of the neighbours!

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Casual stroll in the Red Velvet Cake dress

  1. Sasha says:

    Hi! Love the back v-neck … a really good idea combining the two patterns ..

  2. Stunning! Well done you for such an achievement!

  3. I made it!! says:

    I think your dress matches your hair perfectly.. Great choice! And I don’t like tight bodices neither! I need room for pie!

Leave a Reply

