Boating with the Mandy Boat Tee to the Isle of Wight

Easter weekend seems now ages away but it was so nice having some extra time off work! This weekend felt so short in comparison. We decided to go boating and visit the  Isle of Wight, which was a pleasant surprise. We set off early and joined the ferry queue at Portsmouth. That Coffee Costa was my saviour as I was in need of caffeine.

Isle of Wight waiting in the queue

We love our castles so this time it was Carisbrooke Castle in Newport, known for the place where King Charles I was imprisoned. Like with Bodiam Castle, the building was well-preserved and the views were amazing! The green fields seemed endless.

Isle of Wight

Carisbrooke Castle Isle of Wight

Isle of Wight

Isle of Wight

I really liked Princess Beatrice’s garden, which is apparently designed by Chris Beardshaw, who is apparently famous. Apologies for my ignorance :0 It was so elegant and simple, but also well organised, if you know what I mean. I felt compelled to do some silly.

Princess Beatrice Garden

Like jumping up and down. It was cold though, so that was imperative. And because we were on an island I thought it appropriate to wear my newly made Mandy Boat Tee.

Mandie Boat Tee

The Mandy Boat Tee, is a free pattern from Tessuti Fabrics. I’ve had it on my to-do list for a very long time and finally got round to completing it. I sewed it all on the overlocker and apart from it being a very easy make, it has become one of my favourite pieces in my wardrobe, the boxy style makes it a very comfortable piece of clothing.

Mandy Boat Tee

Yeah, I did it!!

Mandy Boat Tee

Pattern matching failure again, but I don’t mind that much

After the castle, we opted for some sea and the famous Needles. Despite being cold, we went up on the chair lift which granted us with some amazing views! The water looked so tempting.

Chairlift Needles Isle of Wight

DSC_5948

Needles Isle of Wight

Back to our hotel, I took a couple more pictures of the Mandy Boat Tee, hanging on a hanger. It had made it through the day.

Mandy Boat Tee

Mandy Boat Tee

I broke my double needle in the process so I used the elastic stitch to finish the neckline

Our last day on the island was a bit rainy, no actually very rainy! But that didn’t stop us from exploring further.

The landscape was even more beautiful

The landscape was even more beautiful

One of my favourite things we saw was a miniature village, which would have looked much nicer under the sun. I felt like Gulliver and the Lilliputs.

Miniature village Isle of Wight

Miniature Village Isle of Wight

I was getting a bit hungry at that point

I was getting a bit hungry at that point

After all this rain it was imperative that I changed my clothes that were soaking wet, I also somehow shrank, no wonder with all that water.

Miniature Village Isle of Wight

How do you like my colour co-ordination?

 

Have a good week everyone!

 

 

 

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing, Travelling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Boating with the Mandy Boat Tee to the Isle of Wight

  1. Sasha says:

    Love those stripes 🙂

  2. I must get to the Isle of White..looks fabulous x

  3. Ooh, you’ve really inspired me to try this pattern! I love your photos, especially you jumping in the air. My sister has a house on the Isle of Wight. I went there for the first time last year and LOVED it. Am going back this summer and can’t wait. Have you heard about Liberty’s Isle of Wight fabric?

    • Oh, thank you Karen! It’s a really nice pattern to try if you like comfie clothes and I’m sure you will do miracles with it. You’re so lucky you have a house at the Isle, it looks like’ the’ place to spend your summer. I didn’t know about the Liberty fabric and it was great, now that I’ve seen it, I want it and it’s not only expensive, but also out of stock! haha!

Leave a Reply

