Bodiam Castle and a slightly unfortunate make :)

The past couple of weeks have been super busy and stressful at work, which is why I have disappeared, not that anyone has missed me here, haha! Having spent days going through notes for meetings with publishers, looking at the computer any longer when back home was the last thing I wanted to do, the truth is that even if I wanted my eyes simply refused to stay open. Perhaps I should have tried taping them.

sleeping-with-eyes-open

Admittedly Britain turns into a beautiful lady in spring, especially when the weather helps, as it was the case during the weekend.

Bodiam CastleBodiam Castle

Bodiam Castle Interior

Bodiam castle is a very well-preserved 14th century castle, situated in East Sussex. Although the interior is ruined, the medieval feeling is enhanced by the beautiful surroundings and the actors dressed in period clothing that walk around the castle, describing the life of the people who once inhabited it.

Bodiam Castle ViewBodiam Castle view

Bodiam Castle view

Bodiam Castle actor in period clothes

Since in the middle ages everything was handmade, I thought it appropriate to take advantage of the opportunity and take some pictures, of my not so medieval or perfect make.

Burda Style 3/2014

This blouse started as the dress based on the burda magazine pattern (issue 03/2014) Dress with Fluted Sleeves. As usual, I found it really hard tracing the patterns from the magazine, I get a headache just by looking at the various interweaving pieces of patterns on one sheet, so you can imagine how I feel, when I actually try to trace them. Argh!! In any case the problem with this one, is that I went straight to the fabric, without making a toile in advance, because you know, I’m lazy and impatient. The result was that my bum was suffocating in that dress and the invisible zipper on the side, well wasn’t invisible at all.

Burda Dress with Fluted Sleeves

Check out my polka dot shades!

Because I loved the polka dot and the sleeves, (I mean aren’t they adorable?) I couldn’t bring myself to throwing it away and was filled with a determination to turn the disaster into something wearable. Cutting the skirt of the dress, left me with a top that wasn’t exactly, in fact it looked as if I had run out of fabric, which I had, but not completely. To create the sort of peplum of the blouse, I turned to my recently favourite pattern The Bellatrix Blazer, by Papercut Patterns. Doesn’t it remind you of something? I cut the front bottom pieces of the blazer pattern and sewed them around the bottom of the blouse to give it a bit more length and I think it turned out pretty well!

Burda Fluted sleeves dress

My pattern matching is a bit off in the back and on the sleeve pleats, but that’s only a tiny problem, compared to the whole dress disaster.

Burda Style Dress with Fluted Sleeves

Except for the beautiful surroundings Bodiam Castle has also some permanent residents; beautiful ducks

Duck at Bodiam Castle

And some not so beautiful fish, this one was rather scary.

Bodiam Castle

Did you do or sew anything nice at the weekend?

Have a good week everyone!

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing, Travelling, Weather and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bodiam Castle and a slightly unfortunate make :)

  1. Anne W says:

    I love your spots, and what a great idea, to use the peplum of the Bellatrix. I has seen that pattern in the magazine & liked it for the sleeve detail, I like it even more as a blouse now! Great save! Bodiham is one of the castles on my list to visit, I love medieval history.

    • Aww, thank you! I’m glad I saved that blouse, I liked the pattern because of the sleeves too. Bodiam is a great castle, very impressive and with the actors, it feels a bit like a tip back in time.

  2. Oooh loving the spots and sleeves! xxx

  3. Pingback: Boating with the Mandy Boat Tee to the Isle of Wight | Delightfully Peculiar

Leave a Reply

