I got bugs…

I got bugs...

I got bugs…

 

I got bugs in my room...

I got bugs in my room…

Bugs in my pockets...

Bugs in my pockets…

Bugs on my window...

Bugs on my window…

They don't go nowhere...

They don’t go nowhere…

Bugs on my ceiling...

Bugs on my ceiling…

Standing, sitting, kneeling...

Standing, sitting, kneeling…

I see they surround me...

I see they surround me…

I got bugs in my room...

I got bugs in my room…

Anne over at Mercury Handmade Fashion made not one, not two but at least three different versions of the amazing Bellatrix Blazer by Papercut patterns. I was inspired and Anne’s descriptions made it sound like an easy make! I wanted to have this jacket and so went and ordered the pattern which came (much faster than I thought) in the most beautiful package, with cool illustration and clear instructions, that one can fold into a little booklet. I know now why the sewing world is in love with indie patterns. This is the first jacket I’ve ever sewn, so it’s not as gorgeous as Anne’s but still very wearable. I cut the small size and sewed with no problems except for the sleeves, where the armhole seemed to be bigger than the actual sleeve or I did something wrong 😉 Next time (because there’s going to be a next time, I want to make the Bellatrix over and over again), I think I will need to cut the smaller size for the top, as this one is a bit loose and as you can see creates a puff in the back, when it’s buttoned at the front.

Bellatrix Blazer Papercut Patterns

It’s the first time, I made welt pockets as well and now the mystery of their creation is solved, haha! I love them and think they’ve turned out nice! The fabric was bought some time ago at Ikea and I was drawn to it because it immediately reminded me of a Pearl Jam song, “Bugs”. Now, I’ve got bugs in my hands, craving to sew…”

Have you made something inspired by another blogger and if so what?

 

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I got bugs…

  1. Anne W says:

    I love your fabric!! And you haven’t done anything wrong with the sleeve & armhole, I had the same problem. You need to make the sleevehead bigger so it eases into the armhole properly. At the moment, the armhole is bigger than the sleeve. I’m glad you were inspired by my makes – looking forward to seeing more of yours! 🙂

  2. rubyfoot says:

    Fab jacket! I LIKE the puff at the back!

  3. jay says:

    Mmm serious fabric envy here. Great jacket!

Leave a Reply

