Where do I start?

Some years ago, when I used to live in London, I took a fashion design short course at Morley College. The objective of that course was to learn how to create a portfolio based on an idea which was the core of our inspiration for creating a mini collection. I can’t tell you enough how much I loved this course, so much I did it twice. I’ve caught myself from time to time going over these two portfolios and although they look very amateur, I still find them amazing. The part that I enjoyed the most was the research and trying to represent my findings in a visual way. The amount of nights I slept at 4am trying to finish the pages or come up with a design and having to go to work the next morning… ah those were the days. Well not necessarily but bear with me. These are the two portfolios I created during the course, the first one inspired by the French Revolution and the second one by the Amazons of ancient Greece.

Reading Rosin’s latest great post, I started wondering what exactly was my hobby, to sew, to make things, clothes? And I realised that what I like the most is making stories, being a bit of a detective, researcher, imagining myself as someone sat in a dark room with piles of books trying to solve the mystery. I like sewing clothes and other things, no doubt about that, despite my shortcomings, but mostly I like the whole creative process from concept to end product. I guess this is why Project Runway is one of my favourite tv shows ever, it’s not the sewing, it’s the whole idea of creation and what lies behind it or in front of the judges, hehe.

I’m sure you have already started wondering (if you are still reading of course) what’s the point of all my blathering. Well, the fact that those days can come back. My aim for this year is to use the last 200 years of fashion (oh yes that Fashion Museum in Bath is to blame here) as an inspiration for creating, digitally this time, portfolios with my inspiration and designs and in the end I will try and sew at least one of the designed garments. Posts will include, general info on the period I will be exploring, a visual journal of research, a moodboard, design process, final designs and of course a sewn garment, out of a pattern mash up. I can already imagine how much fun this last part will be, if I manage to sew at least one garment then we should all celebrate. First stop will be the 1800s. Are you ready for the ride?

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in Fashion, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

