Fashion abroad? No, just in the UK. Wells and the fashion museum in Bath

After many years of spending Christmas abroad, it’s been the first year that I stayed in the UK for a traditional christmas holiday. I must confess, I am now in Greece, for new year’s. But back to the UK. We drove from Brighton to Somerset and in one of  our day trips (there were only two of them) we visited Wells and Bath.

Wells is a cute little town with a very impressive cathedral, conveniently christmassy in this pic.

Wells Cathedral I was pleasantly surprised to discover in Wells one of the cutest sewing shops, I’ve seen, Sew Vintage. Immediately, I was disappointed to discover it was closed. Oh, I so wanted to go in and spend my money. Even the closed sign looked adorable.

Sew Vintage Wells

Sew Vintage

Sew Vintage WellsThe second stop on our trip was Bath, which may be famous for its Roman Baths and Jane Austen but also has an excellent Fashion Museum. Here are some of my favourite finds.

Greeted by a wearable Veuve

Greeted by a wearable Veuve

Frock definition

The Reds

The Reds

The pastels

The pastels

Dress of the year 2013

Dress of the year 2013

Bath Fashion Museum

Bath Fashion Museum

Bath Fashion Museum Bath Fashion Museum

Bath Fashion Museum

Victorians

Victorians

Random things I liked

Random things I liked. I had never seen before a lip gloss in the shape of a thread spool.

Outside the museum, there were more lovely things to be found.

Sew & Sew Bath

Sew & Sew Bath

Sew & Sew Bath

Sew & Sew Bath

I loved this window

I loved this window

Thank you all for reading this year! Have a wonderful 2014, with plenty of creativity, love, happiness and success in whatever you do.

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in Fashion Abroad, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fashion abroad? No, just in the UK. Wells and the fashion museum in Bath

  1. George says:

    I loved Bath’s fashion museum! It was really interesting to see things laid out in a timeline and how certain styles progressed or took a complete 180.

    Happy creative New Year to you too!

  2. Pingback: Wells Cathedral Cloisters | Highlights and Shadows

  3. Pingback: Overcoming obstacles and finding some serious awesome! « From One Crazy Life To Another

Leave a Reply

