Secret Swap

Had a busy last week, because I got a new job, woo hooo, so that rocketed my excitement, leaving me incapable of making anything, as all I thought was of the future. This was not the only reason though. Oh Comely magazine, organised a box swap. Oh, my eyes went crazy and I jumped up and down like a child on a bed mattress, when they announced it on their group on Facebook, because I looooooveeeeeeeee surprises, especially when they come from people I don’t know. I had to join and I did. So the idea was that you prepare a box with some presents for  your person, who was randomly chosen by the team of Oh Comely. Here’s what you had to put inside:

Something personal.

An inspiring snippet.

A wintry treat. 

I picked an old box from work which was about to end up in the bin and by using pages of an old book and some PVC glue, I covered the whole surface with something  a bit more inspiring, and of course some fabric.

The birds are cut from some left over wrapping paper and the stamps are from a letter my  mum sent me from Greece

The birds are cut from some left over wrapping paper and the stamps are from a letter my mum sent me from Greece

Astro Boy was from a colour proof from work and the flower is from a patterned piece of fabric

Astro Boy was from a colour proof from work and the flower is from a patterned piece of fabric

Then it was time to fill it with goodies 🙂 Do you remember that bouclé fabric from my previous post, that made me smile? Well, I had some left and decided to turn it into this bag, in hope that it would make the person at the other end of the box, smile too.

Bouclé bag

Coming to something personal, I put in some chocolate from Greece, because it’s my favourite type of chocolate 🙂 My inspiring snippet was a postcard of a Miró painting and the wintry treat was a pair of colourful socks.  I also bought my mystery swapper, some wooden colouring pens, a tiny notebook and an eraser with a smiley on, in case everything else fails. contents of box

And then they were already to be packed and sent off. I bought some purple tissue, which is one my favourite colours and found at Bert’s in Brighton these amazing wooden tags, shaped as an owl and a bird. You can see them all here, wrapped up, waiting patiently to go into the boxbox inside

wrapped contentsAnd now that this has been left to the hands of the royal mail, I thought I’d get mine on some sewing. Nowhere near finished, but this is the beginning of my Burda 7012 pattern. Hopefully, it will not end up in a major disaster, at the moment the sleeves are too wide, hmmm… and I will be able to show it to you worn. I’m also not liking a lot the fabric combination, but perhaps it will look better, once finished. How do you feel about this combination? And do you like surprises?

Burda 7012

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in Crafts, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Secret Swap

  1. painterswife says:

    well who wouldn’t be delighted with that box! you put a lot of thought into it – I wish I’d joined the swap!

Leave a Reply

