Bouclé makes me smile

Bouclé is a fabric that I have somehow associated with my childhood. I vaguely remember a green bouclé coat I had and how the name of the fabric had made me smile, when I had asked my mum what it was called. I was so happy when I saw that the fabric of choice for the Crewneck Sweater, in my list of fall essentials, was tada, bouclé.

Crewneck Sweater Burds

I didn’t use the red bouclé as in the magazine, because I found this remnant, in surprise, surprise Remnants Plus in Brighton, and I had to have it. I have promised I will go back and show them what I made with it, hmm… (the couple who owns the shop are a post themselves, may I also say that during my time in there, the lady owner found me a Greek husband) My version also ended up being slightly different from the one in the magazine, because I suspected I did something wrong as I was trying to trace the pattern, from that mess of different patterns on the same piece of paper, who had that genius idea? 😮 So the neck line looks like a smile itself. (maybe not as forced as mine in this pic)

Crewneck Sweater Burda

Also I didn’t put any buttons but I did add this little bow. Because I love bows.

Crewneck sweater

Admittedly despite my love for the fabric, this is the first time I sew something with it, and it is slightly challenging as it just turns literally into threads, as you go along (or at least as I go along, I’m sure there are much more capable sewers in the blogosphere) . But luckily I managed to put it together and it’s still in one piece. The back  is not that exciting but I just love the different colours on the plaids (?) And yes there was no zipper, or if there were, I just didn’t put one, hurrah!

Crewneck Sweater Back

Bouclé is surprisingly warm, so I have only worn it a couple of times so far, but something tells me it will soon be worn, again and again.

And now you smile, because guess what, you’re on camera. 🙂

Crewneck Sweater

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

