Hello Oscar: Oscar de la Renta inspired dress

A little bit after I discovered Ping’s blog and her wonderful creations, she started the Copycat Challenge. The mention of the word challenge makes me go cuckoo and a little tickling feeling at the tips of my fingers makes them reach for the sewing machine (well in this case at least). I have to admit, I’m not either a very experienced nor a very advanced sewer and still face a lot of challenges and disasters, every time, I try to make something. I was though determined this time to have at least one piece to enter this particular challenge. And here it is:

Oscar de la Renta inspired dress

The inspiration for this dress was an Oscar de la Renta stripy dress, which was a love at first sight, slightly over my budget though 🙂

Oscar de la Renta stripy dress Spring 2013

I had bought the stripy fabric from a vintage shop in good old Lewes, where I work, some time ago and certainly before I had seen this gorgeous dress. Unfortunately, it was a pre-cut length and it wasn’t enough to create a long dress, but I think the outcome was close enough, plus there are more chances, I wear it in the outside world.

Oscar de la renta inspired dress

As I’m nowhere near cutting my own patterns (or will I ever be probably), I used the prom dress pattern from the Great British Sewing Bee Book  I left out the halter neck and the belt and changed the heart-shaped bust of the dress, so that it looks more like my inspiration. It wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be to put it all together and this is the first time, I have made something of this scale. My fabric was quite thin, so I created a second skirt from a light weight satin to give it some volume, but it’s all hidden under the main dress. Two things, I discovered during the process: 1) I hate zippers and 2) I hate hems even more. For someone who sews, I have too many dresses, needing some mending in both these areas and I simply can’t get round to doing it 🙂

Oscar de la Renta inspired dress

Although it’s perfect by no means, I really enjoyed making it and I’m very pleased with the result.

Oscar de la renta inspired dress

Oh, how I love a challenge and stripes and Oscar de la Renta.

(the belt is H&M and the choker from a charity shop, the shoes were a cheap buy for a wedding. The pictures are courtesy of the boyfriend)

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in Crafts, New Beginnings, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello Oscar: Oscar de la Renta inspired dress

  1. BeingZhenya says:

    I love it! I have so much respect for you for making this!
    Xx,
    Zhenya
    http://beingzhenya.com

Leave a Reply

