Sewing disasters

I used to be good at sewing, patient as well, but it’s been a couple of weeks now that I don’t seem to be getting anything right. So while the members of the sewing community show off their amazing creations, I thought I’d show you some of my latest sewing disasters. Oh and they all happened one after the other.

I’ll start with my sewing space, which is a disaster on its own. It’s enough that I’m disorganised to an annoying extent even for myself, my sewing room is narrow, with the limited space disappearing among the old futon bed, the boxes and my boyfriend’s DIY tools. Yes he’s into DIY too, just a different kind.

Sewing room

Sewing room

DIY Tools

Sewing disaster #1: The patternless top

This was meant to be my pride project, not only because there was no pattern for it (which is usually the norm for me, I love draping on the stand) but also because it would be  an up-cycling project, (rather down-cycling) made of a pillow case and some old jeans.

Disaster #1

I spent an awful amount of time cutting and sewing the back, only to end up with an ill fitting top, where any additional alteration simply made it even worse. In the end I made it so tight that I had to cut it with my scissors to get out of it.

Disaster #1

Disaster #1

Sewing disaster #2: The pattern skirt

As my patternless top failed miserably, I immediately threw myself on a new project, just to prove myself, I could still sew.

I chose this lovely skirt from the Burda Pattern Collection, because it looked gorgeous on the model and not difficult enough. There, I would use that fabric finally. Well, think again my friends. To start with, I didn’t have enough fabric, no problem, I could make a crazy combination. I didn’t read the pattern properly so ended up with some pieces of fabric, which were not properly cut let’s say. So not to blather a lot about this, I ended up with this ugly thing, which on top of everything that’s wrong with it, it’s also too big. 😦

Disaster #2

Sewing disaster #3: The Sorbetto Top

I will never learn but will never give up either. The construction for this lovely top was described as ultra simple, so what could go wrong? Well, a lot of things. To start with, I used a silky sheer fabric, which I had for such a long time and loved the colour. It was far from ultra simple to sew and cut straight, so once more I ended up with an ill fitting top, with the sleeve holes and the shoulder part being really tight and the rest of it more loose than what I wanted it. It looks square. As if this wasn’t disaster enough, I added a lining which was equally bad and tight around the bust area plus a green lace instead of bias tape. Revolting.

Sewing disaster #3

As previously mentioned, I don’t know when to give up, so I’m now determined to fix these disasters into something wearable over the next few weeks, probably not the next one as I will be on holidays and not necessarily using the same fabrics ;). Have you had any sewing or other DIY disasters recently?

About delightfullypeculiar

I'm Vasi, Greek living in the U.K. I wouldn't call this blog my sewing journey but an attempt to make and do the things that make me happy, sewing being one of them.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing disasters

  1. Marisa says:

    OMG Hilarious!! Yes, I have started sewing again. A couple of things have come out okay, I will wear them but they’re not the masterpieces I had envisioned. A dress I’m making now out of too sheer jersey and with floppy v-neck and armhole casings I have decided now will be a nightgown or swimsuit cover up. I don’t think I can wear this one out as a dress. The disasters make you want to give up or take a breather. Thank you for the laugh, it helps when you don’t feel alone.

    • Haha, glad you found it amusing. It’s nice to make things that are perfect but I think the disasters make you more proud when something really works. And you can always back to those thinks and roll on the floor laughing, hahaha!!

Leave a Reply

