Burda 7137 Sewn in Brighton

On Monday, I will have 9 working days left in my current job, (did I hear you saying I’m counting?) before I go back to London and start my new one. And although I’m super excited, the three months’ notice period, created a lot of mixed feelings. Excitement, sadness and excitement again.

Maybe I should hold on to it a bit longer...

Maybe I should hold on to it a bit longer…

But then again, it's time to move on

But then again, it’s time to move on

Go down the stairs for one last time

Go down the stairs for one last time

Look with excitement at the new that awaits out this door

Look with excitement at the new that awaits out this door

One last look but nah..

One last look but nah..

Soon I will be going up another new sets of stairs, that looks more like that

Soon I will be going up another staircase, that looks more like this one

I made this dress as part of Making clothes from patterns class, I recently took at Sew In Brighton. It was a five weeks course and although I cheated a bit, (yes I didn’t make the whole dress only during the class), this is probably one of the best dresses I’ve made. The pattern is Burda 7137, which I chose specifically, because of the sleeves, the lining, the zipper and the darts. All the things I find very challenging whenever I make anything. I had never realised how important pattern markings are to achieving a beautiful garment. Yes, yes, I know, everyone says that, but I can’t help it, I have a sort of aversion for instructions, haha. I can tell you now though, I will never make this mistake again. Burda patterns start at a size 10, so we had to resize my pattern to a smaller size for the top, as the finished dress would have been too big.

Sew in Brighton

Sew in Brighton

Sew in BrightonThis time it was essential to follow the instructions to the letter and because my pattern was so long, I had to lay it out in the corridor during the class. That wasn’t a massive problem for me as this is where I usually do everything. (Ok, now I’m sitting on top of the sofa so that I can be close to the radiator).

Burda 7137I found the sleeves a bit challenging because of the slit, which I think needs to be in the back but it looks really good on the front too. The instructions where somewhat confusing on that part, but once deciphered the result was pretty good.

Burda 7137The lining was certainly my least favourite part, as I made a mistake the first time and I had to unpick it and sew it again. It is only a cheap polyester lining and as you can see it looks slightly tortured now, but it’s on the inside and it sits there just fine.

Burda 7137However, I was quite pleased with the zipper insertion as it turned out a million times better than any other zipper. It’s still not perfect but I’m very happy with it. The fabric is also very forgiving with tiny mistakes, as because of its texture, they’re not easily noticeable. I will certainly wear this in my new job, when some power dressing is required or not.

Dress: self-made/ gloves: vintage bought at a work props sale/ suitcase: vintage, christmas present/shoes: the internet?/Photography: the boyfriend and myself

2 thoughts on “Burda 7137 Sewn in Brighton

Leave a Reply

